Benjamin Myers

These Darkening Days

Mace and Brindle return in the must-read sequel to Benjamin Myers’ critically acclaimed crime novel, Turning Blue. Out 22 September 2017.

As autumn draws in, a series of unexplained vicious attacks occur in a small northern town renowned for being a bohemian backwater.

As the national media descends, local journalist Roddy Mace attempts to tell the story, but finds the very nature of truth brought into question. He turns to disgraced detective James Brindle for help.

When further attacks occur the shattered community becomes the focus of an accelerating media that favours immediacy over truth. Murder and myth collide in a folk-crime story about place, identity and the tangled lives of those who never leave.

Published 22 September 2017

Pre-order now.

Turning Blue

Turning Blue cover 300dpi cover copy

Nothing stays hidden forever.

In the depths of winter in an isolated Yorkshire hamlet, a teenage girl, Melanie Muncy, is missing.

The elite detective unit Cold Storage dispatches its best man to investigate. DI Jim Brindle may be obsessive, taciturn and solitary, but nobody on the force is more relentless in pursuing justice. Local journalist Roddy Mace has sacrificed a high-flying career as a reporter in London to take up a role with the local newspaper. For him the Muncy case offers the chance of redemption.

Darker forces are at work than either man has realised. On a farm high above the hamlet, Steven Rutter, a destitute loner, harbours secrets that will shock even the hardened Brindle. Nobody knows the bleak moors and their hiding places better than him.

As Brindle and Mace begin to prise the secrets of the case from the tight-lipped locals, their investigation leads first to the pillars of the community and finally to a local celebrity who has his own hiding places, and his own dark tastes.

A tour de force of plotting and atmosphere, Turning Blue is a terrifying, gripping story of hidden lives, and hidden deaths.

‘Ben Myers is the master of English rural noir, and with Turning Blue, he has created a whole new genre: folk crime. By turns gripping, ghastly and unputdownable. I’m already looking forward to the sequel.’
Paul Kingsnorth, award-winning writer of The Wake and Beast

Buy a copy of Turning Blue from Amazon

© Julian Germain

BENJAMIN MYERS is an award-winning writer. His novel Beastings (2014) won the Portico Prize For Literature and a Northern Writers’ Award and was longlisted for the Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize. Pig Iron (2012) won the inaugural Gordon Burn Prize and Richard (2010) was selected as a Sunday Times book of the year. Turning Blue (2016) was named Book of the Year 2016 by Loud And Quiet Magazine, and his recent novel, The Gallows Pole (2017) has already won the Roger Deakin Award.

Myers’ other work includes the poetry collection Heathcliff Adrift (2014) and his Tom-Gallon Trust Award-winning short stories. His journalism has been published in numerous titles including The Guardian, New Statesman, Mojo and Caught By The River and his non-fiction writing has been widely translated.

Benjamin Myers was born in Durham and currently lives in the Upper Calder Valley, West Yorkshire. Find Myers on twitter @benmyers1 and discover more at