Heathcliff Adrift – Out now

1780. West Yorkshire. Cast out from the Earnshaw household where he has lived for nearly a decade, Heathcliff is left to fend for himself. Betrayed by his first love Catherine and now heartbroken and alone again, he takes to the upper moorlands of the Pennines and embarks upon a journey of survival…

Heathcliff Adrift is a series of narrative poems that explore the imagined wanderings of this most enduring anti-hero of literature. The landscape is further brought to life in stunning photographs of the West Riding moorlands by Nick Small.

Originally published in 2014, now Heathcliff Adrift returns in a new edition, featuring previously unseen works to coincide with the 200th birthday of Emily Bronte.

Published 2 July 2018

Order now


Mace and Brindle are back…

We’re thrilled to announce the return of Roddy Mace and James Brindle in These Darkening Days, the must-read sequel to Benjamin Myers’ critically acclaimed crime novel, Turning Blue.

Praise for Turning Blue:

‘He is thrilling: intelligent, dangerous and near untouchable.’ New Statesman

‘Myers is the master of English rural noir.’ Paul Kingsnorth

‘There is no hiding place from the darkness because the writing is so damned good.’ Val McDermid

Find out more about These Darkening Days.

Published 22 September 2017

Pre-order now.

Moth announces two new titles for August

Hard Wired cover 300dpi copy Turning Blue cover 300dpi cover copyThis August we are publishing two new books through our Moth crime imprint: Hard Wired, the winning novel of our Northern Crime Competition, by Leeds writer Kath McKay; and Turning Blue, the first crime novel by acclaimed novelist Benjamin Myers, who lives in West Yorkshire.

Hard Wired is a suspenseful stand-alone novel which launches Kath McKay as a new voice in crime. It features Charlie, an accidental detective who is drawn into solving the murder of her best friend’s son in 1990s Newcastle upon Tyne.

In Turning Blue Benjamin Myers has created a new genre in crime fiction, folk crime, and introduces us to DS Brindle, a detective from the elite police department Cold Storage, and his sidekick, journalist Roddy Mace. Together they unlock a horrific network of crime and abuse in a Yorkshire hamlet.

Both books launch in August 2016.